Thank you for nominating for our 2024 Awards Program!

OAESA annually recognizes elementary and/or middle-level schools and school leaders for their exceptional service to the students and school communities throughout Ohio. We received nominations in each of the following categories and look forward to honoring our winners for all they are doing for Ohio's school children. All honorees will be announced in the spring and will be celebrated at our annual professional conference.

OAESA Principal of the Year 
This award recognizes an elementary and/or middle-level principal as the OAESA Principal of the Year. If this individual also meets current NAESP membership requirements, s/he can additionally be recognized as the National Distinguished Principal (NDP) and will represent Ohio in the National Association of Elementary School Principals’ NDP program in Washington, D.C.

Hall of Fame Schools

OAESA celebrates elementary and/or middle level schools that provide truly outstanding educational opportunities to their students through effective programming and instruction. These schools are characterized by an atmosphere of growth, achievement, pride, and a dedication to excellence on the part of staff and students.

Secretary of the Year
OAESA annually honors one school secretary from across Ohio who epitomizes the highest standards of commitment, dedication and service to their school. The Secretary of the Year will also receive a complimentary registration to OAESA’s Secretaries Conference.

Outstanding Second-in-Command Administrator
The Outstanding Second-in-Command award recognizes the exceptional leadership of auxiliary administrators who partner in the day-to-day operations of PreK–8 schools. The recipient of the Second-in-Command award will also receive complimentary registration to OAESA’s Second-in-Command Institute.

Outstanding Central Office Administrator
Central Office administrators working on behalf of our PreK-8 students add a tremendous benefit to a school community. This award recognizes one of these highly impactful individuals in our state by identifying an Outstanding Central Office Administrator (OCOA).

Congratulations to our 2023 Award Winners!    

OAESA 2023 Ohio Principal of the Year: Jaclyn Prati, J.W. Reason Elementary School, Hilliard City Schools
Honorees are selected by their colleagues for achievements above and beyond those expected in the usual school program. OAESA has been recognizing outstanding administrators since 1984. 

OAESA 2023 Outstanding Second in Command Adminstrator Award: Tracy Wehner, Assistant Principal, Van Wert City Schools
Honorees are selected by their colleagues for achievements above and beyond those expected in a role as an auxiliary administrator who partners in the day-to-day operations of PreK-8 schools. 

OAESA 2023 Secretary of the Year Award: Shirley Mathewson, Coldwater Elementary, Coldwater Exempted Village School District
Honorees are nominated by their building principal and selected by an administrator committee for exemplary service to their school community.

OAESA 2023 D. Richard Murray Award: Dennis Pergram, Legal Counsel to OAESA 

To recognize D. Richard Murray, Emeritus OAESA Executive Director, the OAESA Board of Directors has annually presented an award to an individual who has provided outstanding service to benefit administrators and the children they serve during the most recent year.

OAESA Hall of Fame School Recognition Program   

Exemplary educational programs that go above and beyond meeting the needs of students in elementary and middle level schools across the state are recognized annually through the OAESA Hall of Fame School Recognition Program. This award has been distributed since 1984.

2023 Hall of Fame School Winners:
Brown Elementary, Hilliard City Schools - Principal Kate Miller

Chamberlin Hill Elementary, Findlay City Schools - Principal Misty Sager

Gurney Elementary, Chagrin Falls Exempted Village School District - Principal Rachel Jones

Ottawa Elementary, Ottawa-Glandorf Local School District - Principal Audrey Beining

Pattison Elementary, Milford Exempted Village School District - Principal Tiffany Selm

Van Wert Elementary, Van Wert City Schools - Principal Justin Krogman